Wishing Me a Merry Little Christmas

So what’s all the fuss?   Birthdays, Christmas, decorations, snow, ice, cooking, working, homework, church, music, cleaning, laundry, needy pets, needy family…….am I missing anything?  I must be…I’m pulled in so many directions these days I can’t keep my day’s straight!

Truth be told, I have been waiting a long time for this chaos.  I’m really not complaining, seriously!  I have been longing for the day when I could have my own kids, in my own house, with my own cooking on Christmas day and here it is.  Am I prepared?  Heck No! 

A couple of weeks ago, the women of my church got together and had a Christmas brunch.  The teaching was on Mary.  I have thought alot about that since then.  She was so young; I’m not.  She was having her own baby; I have not.  She had to travel with her husband; …..ok, usually we do that.  She was scared; me too.  She had no idea what to expect; me either.  She trusted God; (working on that one).  What will it take for me to totally trust Him?  What rock needs to knock me in the head before I realize that He really is in complete control?  How can I even begin to compare myself with her?  Because, like me, she was human.  She had faults….don’t know what they were but I’m sure she did. 

I have alot to do this week.  I’m feeling the stress of it.  But I’m going to try really hard to let God help me with all that I think I have to do.  I just read someone elses blog that included a letter from Jesus listing out exactly what He would like for His birthday.  It reminded me that it’s not about me, or the gifts I give.  It’s about the gift He gave me.  I need to find a way to thank Him, again, for the gifts of life, husband, daughter, pets, friends, church, music, job, home……..the list goes on and on.

Lord, I praise you today.

Lord, I give myself to you today.

Lord I ask you to help me today.

Leave a Reply

