On Lent

Tomorrow begins the season of Lent.  This time of self evaluation, confession and meditation on the greatness of the gift of forgiveness and love is a welcome time for me.  For so many years of my life, I had no idea how to receive the forgiveness offered through the sacrifice on the cross.  Maybe that’s why it’s still so hard to accept in full the gift of forgiveness.   My humanity is staring me in the face of late, and an opportunity to again learn how to accept forgiveness is a breath of fresh air.

I picture myself humbled, on my knees at the foot of the cross.  My offering:  my brokenness.  This is the image that I want to hold on to during this time.  

Psalm 51

16(AD) For you will not delight in sacrifice, or I would give it;
   you will not be pleased with a burnt offering.
17The sacrifices of God are(AE) a broken spirit;
   a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise.

Leave a Reply

