Just something I wrote…

Perhaps you know her; perhaps you’ve passed her by.  If you see her again, please tell her I said hi. 
I wish I knew why she had that look, that sadness in her eye.  I hope it’s not because of me that she cannot seem to cry. 
Has anyone seen her?  She used to come around.  I’d like to get a message to her that I’m safe an sound.  Please tell her that I’m sorry, that I didn’t want to go.  Please tell her that I’m happy, and safe at home, you know?  Please tell her, if you get the chance, to put the burden down, to leave it at the foot of the cross, just leave it, lay it down!  I really hope she understands I want her to be whole.  She doesn’t have to be afraid, or sad, or always down.  She didn’t do this to me, there really was no choice.  I understand, I know–
 
I’m the one she calls her son, but only to herself. 

And on another day, I wrote…

I didn’t know you
or who you might become
But it had to happen
It had to be done
So I opened up my arms
and I let you go
I have always loved you
I pray that you know

You are a child of God
Raised in His kingdom
Nursed on His love
When you look into the Father’s eyes
I pray you see your mother’s love

I never forgot you
I even know your name
You left an indelible mark
a permanent stain
When I opened up my arms
and I let you go
I felt tremendous pain
pain you’ll never know

You are a child of God
Raised in His kingdom
Nursed on His love
When you look into the Father’s eyes
I pray you see your mother’s love

Leave a Reply

