Dear God

(Note to readers:  This post was inspired by my friend, Janna, who wrote a letter to God today on her blog.  If you are reading this, and you have a blog, take a moment and write a letter to God also.  Then stop by Janna’s blog and let her know she inspired you too!)

Dear God,

What an amazing journey I have had the last couple of years.  Thank you for choosing me as one of yours.

You have blessed me in so many ways, more ways than I can recall.  You have given me hope, peace, comfort in times of need.  You have led me to friends, some farther away than others, that have inspired me, guided me, picked me up when I’ve fallen flat on my face, and made me laugh.  In them I learn your love, your compassion.  In their eyes I see your love and I am overwhelmed every time that happens.

You know, before I came to know you, I thought that you were just a one dimensional being, that you were historic.  But you are neither of those things.  You are multi-dimensional and you are now.  Your spirit moves in me and awakens feelings and emotions that I thought were long ago dead, or non existant.  Your music fills my ears, and you make me overflow with words that often make no sense to anyone but you.  I am proud to be a Christian, a Christ follower, one who strives to be Christ-like.  Help me to remember that each day.

I am healing from old wounds.  I am shedding old skin.  You are there with me every step of the way and that, THAT, is what amazes me the most about you.  That you can be so close, and so intimate with all of your children!  How huge you are!  

My hope is in you.  My future is in you.  My heritage is you.  My legacy is you.   I want to live out your will.  I trust in you.  I trust you. 

Like so many others, I don’t know how or why you do the things that you do.  But I know your promises because they are written in Your word.  I know that one day, I too will stand before you.  I will stand tall, proud and confident because You are with me now, and if You are with me, who can I fear?

Love,

Lori

4 thoughts on “Dear God

  1. Janna says:

    Lori,
    This was just so nice. I loved this and I know God does too.
    I am happy to inspire you.
    God inspired me, so I could inspire you and so on.
    Take care
    See you Sunday

  2. stmichaelsspark says:

    Matthew 9:17
    17Neither do men pour new wine into old wineskins. If they do, the skins will burst, the wine will run out and the wineskins will be ruined. No, they pour new wine into new wineskins, and both are preserved.”

    i love you hunny!!

  3. tam says:

    oh wow…

    this was so incredibly beautiful. You got me weeping here Lori.

    I am speechless.

  4. lori says:

    Janna, Thanks! Your letter really inspired me!

    Suzanne, Great scripture…really something to think about!

    Tam, Sorry..didn’t mean to make you cry! ((((Tam))))

Leave a Reply

