Bumble Bee

Mary:  “Mommy, can I play outside?  And find bugs?”

Mommy:  “Uh..sure.”

Mary:  “Mommy, can I have a container to put the bugs in?”

Mommy:  “Uh..sure, but–please don’t bring the bugs in the house, ok?”

Mary:  “Ok.”

She goes out, I go upstairs for a min.  Then, frantically,

Mary:  “MOMMY!!!”

Mommy:  “What?”

Mary:  “I found a bumble bee!  It’s following me!!”

Mommy:  “Well, just leave it alone, and it won’t bother you.”

Mary:  “Ok.”     door closes

Mary:  “MOMMY!!   It’s still following me!!”

Mommy:  “Well, just go out the other door.  Don’t worry, it’s not going to bother you.”

 

This all got me thinking about how many times I have come in frantic because something “out there” is bothering me.  Friends would say things like “you’re going to be fine.”  or “come on, you can do this.  Don’t worry, you’re not alone.”

How many times am I going to keep running back inside just because I am a little uncomfortable out there?  My friends keep telling me that if I would just hang in there long enough, I might see that the bumble bee, who looks so intimidating, really is no threat at all and actually has a purpose in this life. 

3 thoughts on “Bumble Bee

  1. Janna says:

    this reminds me of that song… ” im bringing home a baby bumble bee…” Then it stung the poor girl.
    Dont run! dont run! it will sting you if you run. and in a sense life will sting you if you run or what ever it is that we might be running away from 🙂

  2. tam says:

    I love how God speaks through everything. I love it more when we recognize it.

    Here’s to no more running…..

  3. lori says:

    Janna, lol the Bumble Bee song! I hadn’t thought about that!

    Tam, Yes He sure does speak in everything. I think running is a natural instinct, but it can get out of control. We need to run sometimes, but we need to make sure we are running from the things that will really hurt us and not just the things that are uncomfortable. Thats the lesson I’m trying to learn…to know what is harmful and what is just uncomfortable. Sometimes it’s hard to know…

Leave a Reply

