Sweetheart Dance

Tonight, my husband is taking Mary on her very first date!  They are on their way to the school gym for the “Under The Sea Sweetheart Dance”. 

My first date!

After a day at the zoo, she came home, took a nice relaxing bath and then dressed in one of her new dresses.  Daddy donned his nicest suit, and off they went, leaving me about in tears….joyful ones!

I’m so proud of both of them.  It’s a hard thing to develop a relationship with a new daddy after what she’s been through already!  And it’s a hard thing to develop a relationship with a daughter that wandered into your heart at age 6. 

This is such an important time in her life.  She needs to feel secure that Daddy will be there for her when she needs him.  How he treats her is how she will learn how she should be treated.  She is lucky.  She now has in her life a man who KNOWS how to treat a woman.  He knows how to be the gentle leader, and he has the strength to carry us all through the rough spots.  He has God.  She is learning that a husband is a leader by example, the one who cares for and holds his family together, and the one who can be depended on to be there.  She is also learning that a husband deeply loves his family.  The example of a husband that she has is amazing.  Sure, he’s going to make mistakes along the way but what she has now, that she never had before, is a man who wants nothing more than to make sure she has what she will need when she is all grown up. 

I love you both so very much!  And I am so glad that God brought us all together. 

4 thoughts on “Sweetheart Dance

  1. Janna says:

    this is SO SWEET!!!!! That is the dress I met Mary in one day at church. She looks SO CUTE!!! THey look so cute!! I am so glad God brought you all together. Its so wonderful and very heart warming to hear of this.

  2. Sharon says:

    What a special evening for a little girl! How blessed indeed is your family, Lori. Please give that husband of yours a great big hug from Ed and me. Come visit us some Sunday after church – we’d love to meet Mary. Many years ago I used to smock dresses for the little girls at St. Michael’s (this was MANY years ago). Then, all the little girls grew to be big girls, or moved away (including my granddaughter who I started smocking for in the first place). At any rate, I’ve begun smocking again as it is something I really love to do. I would consider it an honor if you would permit me to make a dress for Mary. All I need is the size and her favorite color (or yours).

  3. lori says:

    Sharon! I would be HONORED if you made Mary a dress! She LOVES to wear dresses, she can’t get enough of them!

    We would love to stop by, should we call first? Is there a week that works better than another? Just let us know…

    Looking forward to a visit!

  4. Sharon says:

    We’re here every Sunday after church. Let us know when and we’ll have lunch ready.

Leave a Reply

