On Macaroni and Cheese

While we were on vacation, we were taken to a restaurant for dinner near Nana’s house. Mary quickly spotted Macaroni and Cheese on the menu and decided that is what she would have. Our food arrived, and we eagerly dug in. Initially, Mary seemed to enjoy her meal. She did her usual antics at dinner time and we had to “encourage” her to eat. Finally, it came to light that she really didn’t like it. This was not K___T Macaroni and Cheese. (I tasted it and I didn’t like it either!) What she thought she was getting was oh so different than what she got.

Oh how many times this has happened to me…the reality of what I got was no where near the expectation.

And I think about me. Have I fallen short of God’s expectation of me? Does He poke and prod at me like the flavorless macaroni and cheese to no avail? I could take on the flavors of the spices He adds, or I can just be plain and dull and flavorless.

I wonder if I measure up to the expectation or do I just think the expectation is greater than it is?

Leave a Reply

