Eyes on the Prize

Update:

I’m sitting here watching the women’s Olympic Marathon. I can’t help but think about the pain these runners endure, the determination it takes make it to the end of the race. Age, injury, economics…all factor into a race. And yet they run.

Who among us has not had pain? Who among us lacks determination? We all suffer aging, occasional set backs be it physical, emotional, financial…

We run…

And as the first runner enters the arena, the crowd erupts. Oh how the gates of Heaven must sound!

Philippians 3

NIV: 12 Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made perfect, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. 13 Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, 14 I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.

The Message: 12 I have not yet reached my goal, and I am not perfect. But Christ has taken hold of me. So I keep on running and struggling to take hold of the prize. 13 My friends, I don’t feel that I have already arrived. But I forget what is behind, and I struggle for what is ahead. 14 I run toward the goal, so that I can win the prize of being called to heaven. This is the prize that God offers because of what Christ Jesus has done.

I was watching my dog, Spirit as she focused on a toy I was holding. Her eyes fixed on it. I tried in vain to get her to look at me, to just glance in my direction. I said her name, I made noises, I even moved the toy out of sight. She didn’t budge. She kept looking at it, and when it wasn’t there she looked at where it was.

Oh that I could learn to focus on Jesus that way!

4 thoughts on “Eyes on the Prize

  1. Debbie says:

    Golly, I need to hang around Spirit more often. I think she needs to teach me how to focus…then maybe I would need to learn how to focus on Jesus. I just don’t know if that is in my reach right now.

  2. lori says:

    Thats what this verse is for, Debbie…to keep us focused on Him. Burn it into your memory and each time you recall it, you will refocus! Spirit just showed me that keeping that intensity and drive alive is what matters…not how you do it but that you do!

  3. darla says:

    Hi Lori, this is a good post…and one near and dear to my heart. Focus is difiicult, and seems to take alot of effort on my part. But I think that Philippians 4:8-9 pretty much some up the how to…that is of course just my thinking..but something I strive for.

    Hope you are having a good day!

  4. lori says:

    Hey Darla!

    Thanks! We are having a good day/evening!!

    Yeah, this verse is near and dear to me as well. It says a lot to me, more than just focus. It talks to me specifically about forgiveness and how important it is to remember that what is past is past, and that looking forward toward Him, and maintaining Him as the focal point is what He desires. I love how many times in scripture we can look at a verse and it speaks to each of us in the way that we need it!

Leave a Reply

