Ok-I love her and I wouldn’t trade her for the world, BUT…

I took an opportunity this evening while preparing dinner (tomato soup, Ritz crackers and grilled 75milkcheese sandwiches, served with a 2008 white milk)  to share with Mary a little of the message we heard this morning at church.  I took the message in a different direction, in order to help her understand world hunger.  (Next week we will work on solving it…)

What I shared with her is that in many places in the world the only thing available to eat is rice.  She was a little surprised.  “What about chicken?”  she asked.  “Nope.  They don’t have that.”  “Welp, what about turkey? Do they have that?”  I answered no, but that they might have a few cows.

For milk, I explained, with a smile (oh how smart is THIS mommy!)

I asked her if she knew where hamburgers came from.  “Meat?”  “Well, close, hamburgers come from cows.”  “Oh.  So, when we eat hamburgers we are eating cow?”  I cringed.  Am I turning her vegan?  “Yes, that’s right.”  “Oh!  So hamburgers have milk in them.”


What can I say?

6 thoughts on “Ok-I love her and I wouldn’t trade her for the world, BUT…

  1. HW says:

    That is great. 🙂

  2. Mom says:

    So now we drink our meat and eat our milk?

  3. Debbie says:

    You go girl, Mary!! Outsmarting mommy already!! Hehehe!!

  4. suzanne says:

    i knew there was a reason i loved her so much! we think alike

  5. tam says:

    i HAVE to meet little miss mary!

    mary – i love you, girl!!!

Leave a Reply

