Philippians Insight

Philippians 1:27-2:2 (New American Standard Bible)

27Only conduct yourselves in a manner worthy of the gospel of Christ, so that whether I come and see you or remain absent, I will hear of you that you are standing firm in one spirit, with one mind striving together for the faith of the gospel; 28in no way alarmed by your opponents–which is a sign of destruction for them, but of salvation for you, and that too, from God.  29For to you it has been granted for Christ’s sake, not only to believe in Him, but also to suffer for His sake, 30experiencing the same conflict which you saw in me, and now hear to be in me.

1Therefore if there is any encouragement in Christ, if there is any consolation of love, if there is any fellowship of the Spirit, if any affection and compassion, 2make my joy complete by being of the same mind, maintaining the same love, united in spirit, intent on one purpose.

I just read this and it really struck a chord with me today.  I’m not sure why.  Maybe it’s because there is so much suffering, and worry and anxiety throughout the world right now with regard to the economy.  Many of my friends find themselves in the same position; wondering where the next mortgage payment will come from, wondering how ends will be met with depleting incomes, and difficulty finding work.

What I take from this today is that regardless of what goes on outside, regardless of my worry, my anxiety, my fear, that to live in one accord with my brothers and sisters in Christ with one mind and one purpose is what He desires.  My strength, my provision, is in Him through them, through us.

My prayer today is:

Lord, thank you for this day and for this encouragement.  Fill me, Lord with Your spirit and strengthen me in mind, body and spirit giving me wisdom and insight as I need it.  Lord protect those that I love and care for, and speak Your wisdom to them as well bringing us closer as the One Body of Christ.  In Your Holy Name I pray. Amen.

2 thoughts on “Philippians Insight

  1. darla says:

    Love your thoughts on this chapter.. I am currently studying through Philippians verse by verse..over at http://Philter48.com its a forum style but I am really enjoying the people there and the discussion is light and non-critical.

    Thinking of you and saying a prayer for you and yours..

  2. lori says:

    Thanks, Darla! I’m going to check out that site…

    Thanks for the thoughts and prayers. Know that I’m thinking of you too.

Leave a Reply

