Me then vs. Me now on abortion

I was thinking this morning about the fact that this is Sanctity of Life week.  Many many people, both pro life and pro choice feel passionately about the issue of abortion.  I have been on both sides of the fence, and I wondered how I would discuss the issue with myself from both sides.  Here’s my attempt.

Me then:
As far as I’m concerned, it’s MY body and I can do what ever I want with it.  If I choose to have an abortion, how can that have ANY impact on you?

Me now:
It may be your body but it’s not your life that you are ending.

Me then:
Well, it can’t survive without me anyway so it’s still part of my body.

Me now: 
It
has a heart beat.  It has hair, fingernails and it’s very own DNA.

Me then:
Men should really stay out of this debate.  When they can go through a pregnancy with all the hormone changes, physical changes, labor pains and stretch marks, THEN they have a right to tell me what to do and what not to do with my body.

Me now:
Men have every right and responsibility to enter into this debate:
James 1:27
Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world.

Men were given this instruction; To look after the orphans and widows.  Those who cannot defend themselves….do not unborn fit into this category?

Me then:
I have the right to choose.  I was born with that right and NO one can take that away from me.  In this country, I have a right to make the choice, it’s part of life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness.  You have no idea what it’s like for me.

Me now:
Yes, I do.  I had an abortion.  And I lost a pregnancy too.  I know the fear, the pain and the struggle of the crisis pregnancy.  I also know the pain that creeps up later when you don’t expect it.  And now I know how God feels about it, and how He feels about me.  I’m forgiven.  But I can’t just be silent now.  I have to, in some way, in some form, help someone else who has suffered what I have suffered, and in the process maybe help to prevent someone from suffering what I have suffered.

Pray not for the unborn, but for the undecided; that they will choose life for the unborn and for themselves.

One thought on “Me then vs. Me now on abortion

  1. tam says:

    i am so proud of you, friend. you have come such a long way!

    you are a new creature. the old is gone.

    so funny how we justify things we want to see as right. youre comparisons, i totally related to. amazing the change that has taken place!

    i do love you lori! and am so thankful for you, your life, your words!

Leave a Reply

