Excuse me, is this heaven?

I had to pinch myself yesterday.  I wasn’t sure if I was dreaming, or if it was real.  Turns out, it’s real.

I have a swing set in my yard.  Not that that is an accomplishment or anything, but it’s a landmark for me.  Something I never thought I’d see. At least not in my yard.  Sometimes in the midst of the day to day stuff I forget how God has worked in my life in the last couple years.  Next weekend marks the 6 month anniversary of our adoption.  The same weekend marks the first birthday that our daughter will have since being adopted.  Ladies and gentlemen, I have a daughter!  It’s for real.  It’s forever.  I have the swing set to prove it!

pict0673

And on another note, that same daughter won first place in the National Junior Duck Stamp Design contest!  This national program  is one of the mainstays of funding for water foul refuges and rescue operations in the United States.  Each year students enter their drawings/paintings of water foul to be judged first on the local level, and then on the national level.  Mary won first place for her work, which she titled “Going Home”, a Canada goose in flight in her age group (k-3rd grade).  This was a state wide competition!!  We are very proud of her!  She met our congressman, had her picture taken with him and received a “Special Congressional Recognition” certificate signed by the Congressman.  Oh, and can’t forget the blue ribbon!  We had no idea when they called to say that Mary placed that she had won first place.  To be part of the top 100 of 519 entries was honor enough!  You can imagine our surprise when she was called for first place!

pict0630

Mary’s art is the orange one to her left

pict0658

Mary with RI Congressman James Langevin

One thought on “Excuse me, is this heaven?

  1. Debbie says:

    First things first….CONGRATULATIONS, MISS MARY!! Your artwork is just awesome!! Your friends in NJ are very proud of you!!

    Lori, a swing set in the backyard! How cool!! Yup, you have a daughter! And that means you are a Mommy!!

    Miss chatting with you.

    Debbie

Leave a Reply

