Health care, what else.

There is so much noise out there right now about health care that I thought I might take a stab at expressing my opposition to this plan.  And I do so for 2 reasons, and 2 reasons only.  Why?  Because I am neither educated enough, or versed enough on the other aspects to really make a compelling argument.  But I can comment on what I do know.

I have no expectation that I, nor my parents, spouse or siblings, will live forever.  But while we are alive, I would like the opportunity to fight for, pay for, and bruise knuckles over what treatments are appropriate, cost effective and necessary for someone that I love and care for.  I am not willing to stand back and allow a group of politically minded doctors, insurance experts and financial wizards decide which eye my mother can see out of if she develops a more advanced case of Macular Degeneration.  Oh yeah, she only has ONE EYE TO SEE OUT OF NOW!!  Under the plan, apparently she has to go totally blind in one eye before she can be treated in the other for the condition.  Great.  By that point it will be too late.  Fantastic.  Now what costs are soaring for a totally blind, diabetic woman in her 70’s or 80’s?  Sorry mom, don’t mean to scare you but this is what might happen if Obama’s plan goes into action.  No, you will not be able to get treatment for that one remaining eye you can see out of, and instead, some other woman somewhere will be granted a free abortion.  Yep.  Her baby will die, and you might go totally blind.  Taxpayer supported abortion on demand.  Why?  So that we don’t return to “back room abortions” with coat hangers.  Hmmm.  I am not liking that my tax dollars could go to support a procedure that I am so adamantly against.  What happened to my say in the matter?  If it really is “pro-choice” then don’t I have the choice to NOT PAY FOR ONE?  And for that matter, what about the premature baby?  Will he/she recieve the necessary treatment in order to survive since his/her mama made the choice NOT TO ABORT, or will that be decided based on the possibility that the child will have to live with a disability that might just cost some money to treat for the next oh say 70 years?  Perish the thought that we might have Americans with disabilities…we wouldn’t want that now, would we, Hitler…errr…Obama.

Sorry for the rant.  Just wanted to get this off my chest.

Please feel free to comment, but know that I understand this is a touchy subject and will probably not respond.  I don’t want an argument.  I just wanted to express my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

