Share your story here:

I think as a nation we are still healing from the horrific events of  9/11.  So, let’s help each other out today with encouragement, stories, memories, or memorials.  I’d like to hear from you.   Where were you on Sept. 11?  What were you doing?  What did you think as you watched?  Share your story, or poem, or song, or remembrance, or whatever you would like.

I’ll go first:  On Sept. 11, 2001, I was at work.  I worked in an electronics manufacturing plant in the QA reliability testing lab.  Radios were not allowed, but we had one in the lab.  We tried to hide it, but pretty much everyone knew it was there.  On the morning of 9/11, around National_Park_Service_9-11_Statue_of_Liberty_and_WTC_fire9:00 AM, one of the department managers walked briskly into the lab and demanded, in a very stern voice, with a very stern look, to know if I still had a radio.  In that moment, my heart launched itself into my throat.  Was I in trouble?  I answered that I did have it.  She told me to turn it on.  She had just heard that an airplane had hit a building in New York but didn’t know any more than that.  I turned on the radio and stood, frozen, as we listened to the events unfold.  As we listened, another plain crashed into a building…and now we knew it was the World Trade Center.  I was flooded with fear, anxiety, confusion.  My mind could not comprehend what I was hearing.  After a few moments, we began to move about again.  Suddenly, something caught my attention on the radio.  There was a reporter reporting from Washington, and I wanted to know what the president had to say.  Then, in a completely unbelievable moment, it happened AGAIN.  The reporter spotted the plane, and interrupted his own dailog with “Oh My God!  Another plane has just hit the Pentagon building!  OH MY GOD!!!”   I will never forget those words.  The rest of the day is a blur.  I remember rushing home to see the news only to find out that every single channel was broadcasting the live shots, re-playing what had happened earlier in the day, and speculating on what, why, who and how come.  My thought at the time?  What had we, as a nation, done that caused men to fly commercial airplanes into buildings?

Leave a Reply

