Not Gonna Happen

I’m learning that being a parent is WAY more difficult than I ever imagined.  And it’s not about parenting.

I have seen inequities in school, and in the social areas where I bring my children.  Competition is one thing, but this is getting flat out crazy.

My kids are incredible.  They have had a horrible start, but the progress they have made is nothing short of amazing.  I’m not going to beat around the bush.  They are not perfect.  But they are simply amazing in my eyes.  And no matter what they do, they will always have my support and encouragement.  If the best they can ever do in school is average, then so be it.  Right now that’s not the case…they are both amazingly smart kids and their grades reflect that.  And if they are unable to maintain that  straight A status, then that’s OK too!  I’m proud of both of them for WHO they are, not what they can accomplish.

I’m so done with competition…the kind that compares “my kid to your kid”.  I’m done with feeling like I shouldn’t be proud of my kids accomplishments because they don’t meet some other parents  standards.  Truth be told, most of the kids that my kids are being compared to have never had to deal with the traumas.  And at the end of the day, achievement on any level is still achievement; we all have different starting points.

“I have no right, by anything I do or say, to demean a human being in his own eyes.  What matters is not what I think of him; it is what he thinks of himself.  To Undermine a man’s self-respect is a sin.” Antoine de Saint-Exupery

If you are a parent, please teach your kids that not everyone can or should be held to the same standard.  Help them to be proud of themselves, but also to recognize that achievements come in all shapes and sizes…and some of them are not measured by a report card.

Leave a Reply

