It’s an unfair world: A Rant

I don’t understand a lot of things.  I’m not stupid but there are just some things in this world that I don’t understand.  Like why Girl Scout cookies are so addicting. Or why abused and neglected children have fewer rights than the adults who abused or neglected them.

 And that’s where I find myself right now;  Scratching my head at a legal system that says we, as adoptive parents, have to compromise what we believe to be in the best welfare of our child to appease the whims of a birth parent who lost their child because they cared more about themselves than the child.
gavel

I simply do not understand a legal system that says, in essence, we don’t really care what is in the best interest of the child (because we don’t even KNOW the child so how can we know what is in his/her best interest) we only care about feeling sorry for the addicted birth parents who, (sniff, sniff) lost their child.

Yes, this is a rant.  I am angry and I admit it.  But we will proceed with what the court says because we have to.  I pray that all of this will, one day, reveal itself to be in the best interest of the child because right now I’m not seeing it.

 

Leave a Reply

